Although I was in Toronto mainly for study purposes, there was no way I was going to spend all my time in the library and I reserved my Sundays to go wandering.

The first area I noticed while arriving by bus from the airport was Queen’s Quay.  Conveniently, I was also staying very close by.  I ended up going there on the two Sundays I was in Toronto; once on my way to the Beaches and the other on my way to Toronto island.

Queen’s Quay is like a breath of fresh air in the middle of the city and this is what I liked so much about it: to still have that feeling of being right in the middle of the city while being in a green garden.  When you look one way, you see Lake Ontario and on the other side, you see high-rise buildings.  It seems to be a place where people can go to escape the city rush. 

The quays have been nicely arranged with a walk for pedestrians and a cycling lane.  There are a few gardens in which one can admire beautiful plants and do a bit of birdwatching, while other areas are the location for various attractions.  And, of course, there are a few marinas with ships, boats and yachts to look at.

