Today, I’ve joined the Book Bloggers Holiday Swap.  I’ve never done it before, but it seems like great fun, particularly since I love offering and sharing books.  Basically, it’s like a secret Santa and I will be given the details of another book blogger (not that I consider myself a book blogger, but I blog a lot about books) and will have to find and send a present to this person.  And someone will get my details and I will also receive a little package.  In the form, you can actually fill details regarding what you’d like to receive, but I’ve tried to leave it open enough as I prefer surprises!

It reminds me of my pen pal when I was younger.  I met her at a festival in France when we were about 9 years old and we exchanged our addresses.  She was from Sweden, so at first we were writing in French since she knew a French teacher who could translate the letters for her.  As we started to learn English, it became a great way to practise the language.  Every year, for Christmas, we would send each other a little package full of goodies.  I remember how I was always so excited opening that package and finding what was in it.  They weren’t expensive things, but little surprises, and quite often they were things I wouldn’t have found in France.  We actually kept writing to each other for a long time.  Although, as the years passed, the letters became increasingly sparse.  I think the last letter I received was when I was already living in Ireland, so I must have been about 23 or 24.  I would love to find her again, but, if I remember well, she was telling me in her last letter that her parents had moved and she probably doesn’t live anymore at the address she provided at the time.  Now, people have Facebook to keep in touch.  It’s probably a good thing, but it loses a bit of the charm, don’t you think?

