Last week, I was commenting on a blog that it is a common occurrence to encounter birds in short stories.  I find that strange.  Why is that so?  My knowledge in bird symbolism in literature is limited and I could not offer an explanation, although I can make assumptions (which I will not do here).

This is the second chapbook published by Nightjar Press and “The Beautiful Room” is as eerie, even more, as Alison Moore’s “When the Door Closed It Was Dark”

This is the story of a couple visiting houses for sale.  We do not learn much about them except that the woman has left her country to follow her partner who is starting a new job and the man is prone to anger.  The narrative is set in one of the houses they visit.  They are in the bedroom admiring the view and start having an argument because the woman wants to buy this house while her partner thinks the house is not practical and would rather live in the city.  Their argument is interrupted by a noise.  It sounds like a bird is trapped in the wall.  This gives rise to another argument as to whether they should free the bird.  The noise intensifies and they figure out that there is more than one bird.  I will not ruin the end of the story, but it is really strange.

I love that feeling when I finish a short story and start scratching my head.  It is a strange, strange story.  The beginning of the story is not deranging but once the couple  starts hearing the noise, it escalates very quickly and becomes claustrophobic.  I cannot really say more without ruining the twist for you, so I’ll just let you find it and read it…

Short Story Monday is hosted by John at The Book Mine Set.

Short St

