The five contenders for Canada Reads have been announced today.  You can seen the five novels and their defenders here.

I am a bit disappointed because the ones I wanted to read the not been selected.  I am glad to see Unless in the selection though.  Finances are a bit tight at the moment, but I will try to get the other four novels as soon as possible and read my way through them before the debate, so I can form a proper opinion on them.  I look forward to reading the graphic novel, Essex County by Jeff Lemire.  I am curious about The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis.  However, I am not really drawn to The Birth House by Ami McKay and The Bone Cage by Angie Abdou, but then I have not read them yet so how could I judge?  What do you think of this selection?

This month also saw the announcement of other Canadian literary awards: the Giller Prize and the Governor General’s Literary Awards.  The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud won the Giller Prize and I must say I want to read most of the books that were selected for the shortlist.  The lists of the fourteen winners for the Governor General’s is here.  The winner for the English-language novel is Cool Water by Dianne Warren, which I would like to read.

I have never really been into literary awards because they are so subjective.  However, I guess it is a nice way to discover works that you would not necessarily have read otherwise, and for me works that take me out of my comfort zone.  I hope I will enjoy reading them…