Literary Blog Hop

The Literary Blog Hop is a weekly event held at The Blue Bookcase prompting book bloggers to answer a question.

What is your favourite poem and why?

I am glad this week question is not too tough as I am running a bit out of energy.

Without any hesitation, I will say “Et un sourire” by Paul Eluard.  I find it very difficult to connect with poetry.  It is a form I am not comfortable with.  I am not saying I do not like poetry; there are many poems I like and I like discovering poetry.  However, it is a form I find difficult to engage with.

I wrote a post on “Et un sourire” a long time ago and I actually give my own translation of the poem in it.  What I like about this poem is its simplicity and the hope it conveys.  I have always connected it with the suicide of my grandmother and the death of other people I love.  I think that is why I am so touched by this poem.  I also like its emphasis on the importance of smiling and connecting with others, something we should remember in these difficult times.

That reminds of an anecdote.  One day, as an adolescent, I was wandering in the streets in Paris.  I used to do quite a lot when visiting my mother there.  I used to spend time looking around.  I passed that beggar and smiled to him.  I was young and did not have any money.  However he stood up and thanked me for giving him a smile and said how important it was for him (more than money) as so many people would just pass by and ignore him.  Something to ponder…

I hope you’ll follow the link and read the poem.  My translation is not great, but I still hope it will touch you as much as it has touched me.