CBC stands for Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.  It is what I would consider as a major Canadian institution.  It has done so much to promote the arts and culture in Canada.  One could mention the reading programmes created by Robert Weaver, one of which, “Canadian Short Stories”, featured a young Alice Munro.  The CBC is also the organiser of literary awards and of the famous “Canada Reads“.

CBC is in danger of disappearing and needs your support.  Steph at Bella’s Bookshelves discusses this matter better than I would, so I send you over to her blog.  You can read about it here and here, as well as sign a petition to show your support.  I am not a Canadian resident and cannot sign this petition, but I am aware of the importance of the role played by the CBC, so please, if you live in Canada, help the CBC!