Although I was alone with the cats this Christmas, I did not feel lonely and this was probably because the presents I received were so thoughtful.  I was amazed at how suited they were for me and that brought tears in my eyes. 

One of my favourite things to do is to sit by the fire with a glass of wine and a book, so I was delighted to receive some wine glasses, a few bottles of wine and some books, which were so well-chosen.  I also received a CD, which I opened first and listened while opening the rest of the presents.  I had a lovely time and a lot of fun watching little Gypsy playing with the wrapping paper.

I also finally opened my second Book Blogger Holiday Swap present, which had been sent to me by Amy, one of the organisers.  Here is what was in it:

As you can see, she put loads of delightful little goodies in the present: some delicious chocolates, a bookmark, a little santa, a 2011/2012 diary, a packet of hot chocolate mix and two books.  I had never heard of any of them and I’m glad to discover unknown books that seem to suit my tastes so perfectly.  One of them is The Disappeared by Kim Echlin, a Canadian novel that was Giller Prize finalist.  The other is Love Begins in Winter, a collection of short stories by Simon Van Booy.

I did not spend as much time as I wanted reading (or blogging), but it doesn’t matter since  managed to chill out for a couple of days and really needed to.

I hope your Christmas was delightful and that you managed to spend some quality time with your loved ones.

