I would like to send all my best wishes to those who visit this blog.  May 2011 be a happy, successful and healthy year for you.

When I look back on 2010, I have mixed feelings.  For some reasons, it was a difficult year and the recession has hit hard in Ireland (a good and bad thing in my opinion).  It is also the year I lost the same job twice: the first time because I could not commit to it as much as before for study reasons (I then went back there with more flexibility), the second time because the restaurant is gone too quiet and has to close for winter months (I will be able to go back to work there when it reopens for the summer).  This means that I will have to find new ways to earn a wage in 2011, maybe something closer to my studies?

The past couple of months have been a bit difficult for me, but when I look at things positively I realise that it’s not all that bad.  2010 is the year I went to Canada for three weeks, a great adventure for me!  I have been travelling to go to conferences, which is always fun.  I have been doing well in my studies: the thesis is progressing and I have published a couple of articles.  Then, there is also this blog.  It has finally taken life and, through it, I have come across interesting people I will probably want to meet if I have the occasion.  Finally, 2010 is the year I rescued Gypsy, who joined my three other cats, Tantrum, Mischief and Kaos.  My house is full of life with them and whenever I feel a bit low, I look at them and smile.

So, here is to 2011 and more adventures!  Happy New Year!