A few weeks ago, when the five contenders were announced, I was telling about my good intentions to read the four books I had not already read.  I fail!  When I went online to buy them, I realised quickly that I would not be able to buy them all.  They are not particularly expensive books, but my budget is tight, very tight.  Then, I also realised that there were other books I would rather buy with this money.  I thus had to be selective.

I had already read Unless by Carol Shields and still have it on my shelves, so no problem there.

I looked forward to reading Essex County by Jeff Lemire, but, although the story is appealing, I had a look at the graphics and did not find them appealing.  I decided not to get it.

I was curious about The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis and bought this one.  I’ll start reading it tonight.

I was not drawn to The Birth House by Amy McKay, but was told I would enjoy it and I did!  I finished it late last night and will review it during the week.

I was not drawn to The Bone Cage by Angie Abdou either and could not get myself to buy it.

I was determined to read each of the five contenders so I could follow the debate, but this is simply not to happen.  Still, three out of five is better than nothing.  There are so many other Canadian books I want to read that I thought it would be a bit silly to follow this list just because it is Canada Reads.  I will still have an idea of what is going on during the debate, won’t I?

The debates will start on the 7th of February an you can follow them on Canada Reads site, where you can also get plenty of information about the five contenders, their authors and their defenders.

Oh! and if you want to read a good argument for Canadian Literature, go to see what Steph @Bella’s Bookshelves has to say on the subject.