This is my 4th year taking part in the Earth Hour, a global event aimed at raising awareness about sustainability issues.  This year, I have decided to write a daily post during the month leading to the event in order to share some thoughts about the environment and give tips the little changes we can make in our daily lives.  There will also be some guest posts by fellow bloggers who will share their own views on a topic related to the environment.  You can read my introductory post here and access the Earth Hour website here.

I encourage you to comment and share your own tips, ideas and experience.  In the last couple of days before the event I will do a few posts about what readers had to say.  I believe we can learn a lot by sharing!

I find that the first obstacle encountered in the protection of the environment is one of attitude from human beings.  It is not necessarily that people do not agree with the fact that we should treat the planet better, but rather that they feel powerless.  Obviously, I, as an individual, have very little impact.  Yet, I believe that talking and trying to convince people to adopt a different attitude towards the planet might make a difference.

I’m known for ranting about the changes we can make.  The usual reaction I get is one of “sure, whatever changes I make won’t matter”.  I disagree!  If we all make changes, it will make a difference.  If I talk to ten persons and manage to convince them that they can make a difference, these ten persons might also work on convincing other people and together we might make a significant impact and perhaps even influence people who have more power.

It all begins with a change of attitude: become aware that we can slow down the damage we are doing to the planet and act, even if it is only at a small level.  It all adds up and has some repercussions.  I believe this is what Earth Hour is all about: get people to adopt a “I can make a difference” attitude.

Think about it…