This is my 4th year taking part in the Earth Hour, a global event aimed at raising awareness about sustainability issues.  This year, I have decided to write a daily post during the month leading to the event in order to share some thoughts about the environment and give tips the little changes we can make in our daily lives.  There will also be some guest posts by fellow bloggers who will share their own views on a topic related to the environment.  You can read my introductory post here and access the Earth Hour website here.

I encourage you to comment and share your own tips, ideas and experience.  In the last couple of days before the event I will do a few posts about what readers had to say.  I believe we can learn a lot by sharing!

I live in a rainy country and, here, saving water does not seem to be a priority.  Let’s put it simply: people do not care!  We do not have to pay for water and when I suggest we should, people jump at me: “Why should we when it rains so much?”  Well, simply because it would be a way to get people to be more inclined not to waste water and the money collected could be invested to improve water pipes and in environmental projects.

Oh yes, pipes are a problem in Ireland.  Many are old and badly conceived, so, as soon as it freezes (which is not often), they burst.  We have had a cold winter and to prevent pipes from freezing, people just let the water running.  That’s right!  Councils have thus had to cut the water off in some places.  I’m sure it is a lot more complicated than that, but I still don’t understand how people can leave the water running.

Do you remember when you were a kid and your mother would scold at you because you left the water running while brushing your teeth?  These days are gone, people waste and do not care anymore.  I know, I am exaggerating a little, but not that much.  I am not saying that we should live like our grandmothers used to, but simply that we should make an effort.  A bath should be a well deserved treat, for instance.

Now, I have been thinking about ways to avoid wasting water.  It can be a bit tricky, but here are a few tips that can be easily implemented.

How often do you empty your glass of water in the sink because it has been sitting there for too long?  Maybe you could empty it in a plant instead, or pour it in your pet’s water bowl?  I’m sure it will not lake a difference to them, but it could save a lot of water. 

What about when you cook with boiling water?  What do you do with it?  A good way, even though not very practical, to use this water is to pour it on weeds.  Boiling water, especially if it is starchy, burns weeds, thus, you won’t have to use those chemical weedkillers, which are terrible for the environment.

 

You could also collect rain water.  Put a bucket outside and use this water for your plants, they will be even happier than receiving tap water that has been treated.  If you have a bit of space in your garden, you could even install a water tank.  What we did in my garden is that we have attached a little gutter to the shed and have put the water tank under it so it fills up more quickly.

These are the only ideas I have been able to come up with so far.  Can you think of anything else?