I have talked about Nightjar press before, when I reviewed Alison Moore’s “When the Door Closed, It Was Dark” and “The Beautiful Room” by RB Russell.  Nightjar is dedicated to the short story and publishes signed and numbered chapbooks every six months.  They are now ready to launch their spring titles: “Field” by Tom Fletcher and “Lexicon” by Christopher Burns.  I have never heard of them, but I trust Nicholas Royle’s tastes.  You can find details to order your copies on Nightjar’s blog.

Nicholas Royle is also the editor of the forthcoming Best British Short Stories 2011, which is published by Salt Publishing and is the first anthology of a new annual series.

I also discovered yesterday that another collection edited by Royle will come out in October: Murmurations: An Antholgy of Uncanny Stories about Birds, published by Two Ravens Press.  This particularly caught my attention because I was mentioning not too long about how often birds are present in short stories and how eerie their presence can be.  This is another collection I would like to check out!

