This is my 4th year taking part in the Earth Hour, a global event aimed at raising awareness about sustainability issues.  This year, I have decided to write a daily post during the month leading to the event in order to share some thoughts about the environment and give tips the little changes we can make in our daily lives.  There will also be some guest posts by fellow bloggers who will share their own views on a topic related to the environment.  You can read my introductory post here and access the Earth Hour website here.

I encourage you to comment and share your own tips, ideas and experience.  In the last couple of days before the event I will do a few posts about what readers had to say.  I believe we can learn a lot by sharing!

There are many associations involved in the protection of the environment. Greenpeace and WWF (who are behind the Earth Hour) would be the first to come to mind, but there is also Avaaz, an organisation actively involved in questions related to the environment and human rights. They keep you informed and organise petitions, often asking for the public assistance to support various important causes. You can subscribe to their email feeds and receive all their updates.

The Earth Hour organisation has also tried to go beyond the hour; you can check what celebrities and countries are willing to do on the Earth Hour blog. They have also created a page on which the public can make a pledge in order to go beyond the hour in proctecting the environment. This is a good place to find inspiration, as well as a place to publicly make a pledge for the action you decide to take.

In their March Newsletter, Eco-Libris (see their blog) suggest that all of us book readers should plant a tree. This is something I have often felt guilty about as I buy many books and prefer to read works on paper than on a screen. This is thus an idea that appeals to me, but where should I plant my tree?

For those of you speaking French, here is a blog (no longer active but still accessible) offering many green ideas for your cleaning.

Read this article about a town in Germany in which inhabitants take recycling very seriously. I personally still find their fees quite high and wonder if in other countries it wouldn’t encourage people to dump their rubbish on the side of the road as I have often seen it done in Waterford.

